Citizen of the Year

Nominations for the 2017 Citizen of the Year are now open. You can print a copy of the form, here.
Completed applications must be postmarked by March 28, 2017

Reservations for the Citizen of the Year Banquet are now open. You can print a copy of the form, here.
Thursday, April 20, 2017 | 6:00pm
North Olmsted Party Center
Ticket orders must be received no later than April 12, 2017

2016 Citizen of the Year
Tom Dubowski

If you mention the name Tom Dubowski in North Olmsted, chances are the person you’re talking to will  know him. The longtime North Olmsted resident’s  extensive community involvement and volunteerism  helped earn him the title of 2016 Citizen of the Year. He received the traditional medallion, key to the city and  proclamations at the 52nd annual Citizen of the Year  Awards Banquet on April 21 at North Olmsted Party  Center. The award is sponsored by the three dozen  member organizations of North Olmsted Community  Council. Community Council members had to be  unusually careful not to let the award-winner’s name slip out this year, since Dubowski handled publicity prior to the event. He also read the list of previous COTY winners at the banquet. In addition, Dubowski and his wife, Nadine, prepared and sent releases to various media organizations during the nomination process and helped spread word on how to purchase tickets for the banquet.

Jeff Peepers, the 2015 COTY, read a synopsis of Dubowski’s community involvement before announcing him as this year’s winner. The name is kept confidential until the banquet. “It was a very tight competition,” Peepers said. “We had many excellent candidates.” As Peepers described the new COTY’s community involvement, members of the audience, including Dubowski, began to realize who the winner was. “I am shocked,” Dubowski said as he approached the podium. “I never thought my name would go into the barrel for this.”

Peepers said Dubowski’s extensive volunteerism with numerous organizations earned him the COTY honor. He is active with the North Olmsted Republican Club and has served as president, vice president and treasurer, as well as filling the publicity and membership positions.

He currently serves as treasurer and is Republican ward leader and Cuyahoga County Republican Central Committee representative. He was the 1999 North Olmsted Republican Man of the Year and a frequent volunteer with federal, state, county, city and school campaigns.

A 19-year Community Council member, he has served as publicity chairman, Charter Review Committee representative, six-year director and a longtime Homecoming parade volunteer.

He also is involved with Olmsted Historical Society, serving as publicity chairman and a volunteer at countless events at the Frostville Museum complex, including pancake breakfasts, the arts festival, antique car and engine shows, military timeline, Holidays at Frostville and the pumpkin festival.

His city involvement includes attending City Council meetings, serving on the Charter Review Commission and as a representative to the Landmark Commission. Dubowski also attends most school board meetings and he served as a judge last year for the National Christian Forensics & Communications Association Cleveland Regional Speech and Debate Tournament.

A member of North Olmsted Evangelical Friends Church, Dubowski volunteered for the Operation Christmas Child project and is an active small group member.

Dubowski grew up on a farm near Meadville, Pennsylvania. He came to Cleveland to attend Cooper School of Art, where he earned a degree in graphic arts and advertising arts. Dubowski worked in commercial printing, advancing from layout in art to production and management before he moved into sales for several large printing companies in Greater Cleveland. He retired in 2011 from an account manager position with West Life.

He received accolades from state Rep. Nan Baker, R-16, Westlake, and Cuyahoga County District 1 Councilman Dave Greenspan, among others. “I am glad to be here and will be around if you need me,” Dubowski said.The COTY selection is made by Community Council’s president, vice president and the last few winners.

Past Citizen of the Year Recipients

1954 William Kahler * °
1955 Harvey S. Levy* °
1956 Carolyn Rankin* °
1957 Charles B. Lewis, M.D. *
1958 Robert Decker*
1959 Elroy M. Christman*
1960 George Christman*
1961 Nina Morse*
1962 Levi Morse*
1963 Charlotte B. Phillips
1964 Walter C. Mason*
1965 Clark W. Peck, D.D.S.*°
1966 Donald T. Ford*
1967 Donald R. Packe °
1968 Adolph E. Spakowski*
1969 Norman T. Musial
1970 Gerald T. Coleman* °
1971 Gerry Swormstedt
1972 Delores Christman*
1973 James M. Davis*
1974 Tony Hart

1975 Sally Myers
1976 William J. Greene*
1977 Hugh Patton* °
1978 Jeanne Flow*
1979 Marlene Orzechowski
1980 Evelyn Peltz
1981 Marie Case*
1982 Margaret McKay
1983 James Boehmer* °
1984 Jack Boss
1985 Alice Holmok*
1986 Ruth Love*
1987 Patricia Martin*
1988 Mary Anne Fischer
1989 Lois Zolar
1990 Lois DeBrodt* °
1991 Dave Dillon
1992 M. Yvonne Petrigac °
1993 Fred Hatton*
1994 Glenn Knight
1995 Roy Seitz*

* = Deceased
° = Past NOCC President
1996 Thomas R. Herbster °
1997 Robert Wendt
1998 Glenn Vannoy*
1999 James Cater* °
2000 Brian Zergott
2001 Dorothy Kitzerow*
2002 Beryl Peck
2003 Henry Caster*
2004 Pat Dillon
2005 Stanley Ball
2006 Gretchen Schuler
2007 John Kepperley*
2008 Robert Klabunde
2009 Donna Smeal °
2010 Marie Peepers °
2011 Paul Schumann
2012 Marilyn Ransom
2013 Randi Jones
2014 Vera Brewer
2015 Jeff Peepers
2016 Tom Dubowski